logo
logo
EN
RU
logo
 

Centre for Classical Studies

Staff

Centre director

Nikolai Grintser, Director of SASH
grintser@mail.ru
grintser-np@ranepa.ru
 

Specialists

Ñïèñîê ïóñò

About the Centre


The Centre for Classical Studies brings together scholars specializing in Ancient Greek and Roman history and culture, as well as those who specialize in history of Classical influence upon Medieval and Modern Europe. The Centre’s research activity is related to current problems of modern Classical Studies (first of all, those of History of Classical Literature) and Classical Reception Studies. Attention is specifically paid to the topics bringing forth the connection between antiquity and modernity.


Projects

Project 1 Semantics of name in Ancient Greek tradegy

N.P. Grintser is finishing his “Semantics of name in Ancient Greek tragedy” project, which is to result in publication of the relevant monography. The latter is to demonstrate the crucial role of etymology as an artistic device in Athenian drama, its connection to both archaic ideas of significance of a name and the sophists’ linguistic theories emerging during that era.
 

Project 2 Literature and politics in formation of European culture

Interaction between literature and politics in Classical and Early Middle Ages Europe is the central topic of the Centre’s 2015 projects. Under this topic research will be conducted upon Ancient Greek tragedy and comedy, Augustan Roman poets and poets of Early Roman Empire, Early Medieval hagiography and historical prose. Special attention will be paid to different forms of political discourse as represented in Classical and Medieval literary works, as well as to the status of literature itself as a social and political phenomenon.
 

Project 3 A new translation of Sophocles’ Oedipus Rex

N.P. Grintser and B.M. Nikolsky are preparing a new translation of Sophocles’ tragedy Oedipus Rex, which, upon poetical editing, is specifically intended to be staged in Russian Academic Youth Theater.
 

Project 4 A commentary upon Sophocles’ Antigone

N.P. Grintser is preparing a new introduction and an extensive commentary to accompany the reprinting of Sophocles’ Antigone (translated by A.V. Parin). The new translations and commentaries prepared are to be subsequently included into the electronic base of Classical texts commented upon under the inter-centre SASH project of “Text – translation – commentary: developing of a multilevel digital environment for Classical texts storage and analysis”.
 

Project 5 Euripides’ Cyclops: text, translation, academic commentary

Cyclops is the only surviving satyr play. B.M. Nikolsky is preparing to publish it in a new translation with academic commentary.
 

Project 6 A commentary upon Ovidius’ Metamorphoses

Ovidius’ Metamorphoses is one of the most influential Classical texts as far as European culture is concerned and, at the same time, it is among the Classical texts particularly intensively discussed upon by Western Classicists. M.V. Shumilin with A.V. Podosinov and A.V. Zhurbina are preparing a Metamorphoses edition for the “Noted works of literature” series, which would introduce Russian reader to current discussions upon the interpretation of the poem as well as to the history of Metamorphoses’ reception in Russia and worldwide.
 

Project 7 Research upon Middle Irish paraphrases of Latin texts

The corpus of Middle Irish texts based upon Classical plots (the earliest of these date from the 11th – 13th centuries) is particularly intriguing since their exact sources are often unclear. Some Irish works probably stem from Classical texts that have not survived till our days – these might prove to be just some brief notes by the scholiasts, yet they still contain some lost information upon Classical literature. M.V. Shumilin, working within a group comprised from Celtic Studies scholars as well as Classicists, conducts research upon said Irish works’ sources and is also preparing commented-upon editions of the most interesting texts of the corpus translated in Russian.
 

Project 8 A commented-upon translation of History of Spain (Crónica general) into Russian

O.V. Aurov is the supervisor for the commented-upon translation of History of Spain (Crónica general) into Russian. This chronicle is one of the key literary works of Medieval Spanish historical tradition as well as of Spanish literature and Medieval Castilian language (the direct predecessor of modern Spanish language).
 

Project 9 Research upon the Libri Feudorum manuscript tradition

The Libri Feudorum is a notable work of Medieval scholarly feudal law that had been taught at Medieval universities; thus a sufficient number of its copies, ordered by students as well as by professors, has survived. Studying these copies provides insight into particularities of tutoring at Medieval universities, and at the same time enables us to trace the spreading of influence of Bologna model of higher education (which the Libri Feudorum stem from).

logo
logo
EN
RU
logo
 

Античная культура

Сотрудники

Заведующий

Николай Гринцер, директор ШАГИ
grintser@mail.ru
grintser-np@ranepa.ru
 

Специалисты

   Николай Гринцер
   Олег Ауров
   Екатерина Илюшечкина
   Борис Никольский
   Елена Чепель
   Михаил Шумилин

О лаборатории


Лаборатория античной культуры объединяет специалистов по истории и культуре Древней Греции и Рима, а также по истории влияния античной культуры на средневековую и новую Европу. Научная деятельность лаборатории связана с актуальными проблемами современного антиковедения (прежде всего истории античной литературы) и исследований по рецепции античности. Особое внимание уделяется темам, связывающим древность с современностью.


Проекты

Проект 1 Семантика имени в древнегреческой трагедии


Н.П. Гринцер завершает работу над проектом «Семантика имени в древнегреческой трагедии», результатом чего должна стать публикация монографии на данную тему. Работа призвана продемонстрировать важнейшую роль этимологии как художественного приема в афинской драме, ее связь как с архаическими представлениями о значимости имени, так и с нарождающимися в это время лингвистическими теориями софистов.

Проект 2 Литература и политика в становлении европейской культуры


В 2015 году в центре проектов лаборатории тема взаимодействия литературы и политики в Европе в античности и на рубеже античности и средневековья. Объектами исследований лаборатории под призмой этой темы окажутся древнегреческая трагедия и комедия, поэты августовского Рима и ранней римской империи, раннесредневековая агиография и историческая проза. Особое внимание будет уделено различным формам политического дискурса в памятниках классической и средневековой словесности, а также самому статусу литературы как социально-политического феномена.

Проект 3 Новый перевод трагедии Софокла «Царь Эдип»


Н.П. Гринцер и Б.М. Никольский готовят новый перевод трагедии Софокла «Царь Эдип», специально предназначенный (после поэтической обработки) для постановки трагедии в Российском академическом молодежном театре.

Проект 4 Комментарий к «Антигоне» Софокла


Н.П. Гринцер готовит новое предисловие и объемный комментарий к переизданию «Антигоны» Софокла в переводе А.В. Парина. Впоследствии подготовленные новые переводы и комментарии предполагается включить в электронную базу комментированных классических текстов в рамках осуществляемого совместно с другими лабораториями ШАГИ проекта ««Текст – перевод – комментарий: разработка многоуровневой компью­терной среды для хранения и анализа классических текстов».

Проект 5 «Циклоп» Еврипида: текст, перевод, научный комментарий


«Циклоп» – единственная дошедшая до нас сатирова драма. Б. М. Никольский готовит издание этого текста с новым переводом и научным комментарием.

Проект 6 Комментарий к «Метаморфозам» Овидия


«Метаморфозы» Овидия – один из античных текстов, наиболее сильно повлиявших на европейскую культуру, и в то же время один из античных текстов, особенно интенсивно обсуждаемый западными филологами-классиками. М. В. Шумилин совместно с А. В. Подосиновым и А. В. Журбиной готовит издание «Метаморфоз» для серии «Литературные памятники», которое познакомило бы русских читателей с современными дискуссиями об интерпретации поэмы, а также с историей рецепции «Метаморфоз» в мире и в России.

Проект 7 Изучение среднеирландских переложений римских текстов


Корпус средневековых ирландских текстов на античные сюжеты (древнейшие из них датируются XI-XIII вв.) интересен тем, что часто бывает непонятно, какими источниками пользовались их авторы. Вероятно, за некоторыми ирландскими произведениями стоят не дошедшие до нас античные тексты – возможно, всего лишь краткие записи схолиастов, но все равно содержащие некую утерянную информацию об античной словесности. М. В. Шумилин в составе группы, включающей как кельтологов, так и филологов-классиков, изучает вопрос об источниках этих произведений, а также готовит комментированные издания русских переводов наиболее интересных текстов корпуса.

Проект 8 Комментированный перевод на русский язык «Истории Испании» («Первой всеобщей хроники»)


О. В. Ауров руководит проектом по комментированному переводу на русский язык «Истории Испании» («Первой всеобщей хроники») – одного из ключевых памятников испанской средневековой исторической мысли, а также испанской литературы и средневекового кастильского языка (прямого предшественника современного испанского).

Проект 9 Изучение рукописной традиции «Книги феодов»


«Книга феодов» – памятник средневекового ученого феодального права; он преподавался в средневековых университетах, а потому сохранилось значительное количество его копий (создававшихся по заказу как студентов, так и преподавателей). Их изучение позволяет понять не только особенности системы преподавания в средневековых университетах, но и проследить процесс распространения влияния Болонской модели организации учебного процесса (где, собственно, и возникли «Книги феодов»).