logo
logo
EN
RU
logo
 

Centre for Oriental Studies

Staff

Centre director

George Starostin
starostin-gs@ranepa.ru
 

Specialists

About the Centre


The Centre brings together both scholars specializing in classic Oriental Studies and linguists concentrating on Historical Linguistics. The unifying motto of their research activities in the Centre is Reconstructing meanings. First of all, this means translation, analysis, critical comments upon and thorough comprehension of the classic written texts that essentially define Oriental civilizations. At the same time the Centre harbours linguistic reconstruction research partial reconstruction of ancient (pre-writing) proto-languages based on comparison of historically documented descendant languages of those. Taken together, this research enables us to look deep into the past and to reconstruct the causation that did eventually shape the modern day society.
The Oriental Panorama bulletin, a Cultural Studies commentary upon current events in the respective world region, is issued quarterly by the Centre.


Projects

Project 1 General theory and methodology of lexicostatistics and glottochronology

Lexicostatistics (a formal method of establishing a relative classification of related languages via basic vocabulary) and glottochronology (a subdivision of lexicostatistics that allows to specify absolute chronology of language breakdown) are currently among the most prospective exact methods in historical linguistics, thus calling attention of not only linguists, but of anthropologists, historians and geneticists, etc., as well. The Centre staff are working both on theoretical enhancement of these methods and on a unified corpus of world languages basic vocabulary (the Global lexicostatistic database Web project).


Project participants: M.E. Vasilyev, G.S. Starostin
 

Project 2 A comparative corpus of nostratic languages basic vocabulary

The hypothesis of genetic relatedness of the so called nostratic languages, which include the largest Eurasian language families – that is, Indo-European languages, Uralic languages, Altaic, Kartvelian and Dravidian languages, is one of the bravest and of the most large-scale attempts of unveiling Eurasian linguistic prehistory of either Neolithic Revolution era or the period directly preceding the latter. To either prove or thwart this theory, first established by the outstanding linguist V.M. Illich-Svitych in the 1960s, some considerable work is necessary to create a unified corpus thoroughly commented upon, that would incorporate archaic basic vocabulary of all the languages comprising the nostratic family. The Centre staff are creating the abovementioned corpus on the basis of digital linguistic environment StarLing, previously developed by S.A. Starostin specifically for solving relevant problems in comparative historical linguistics.


Project participants: M.A. Zhivlov, A.S. Kasian, G.S. Starostin
 

Project 3 The Ancient Chinese anthology Shijing and its part in development of Chinese poetic tradition

The Shijing anthology is the basis of Chinese poetic tradition and one of the most fundamental texts of Chinese culture, being, at the same time, one of the most difficult text to comprehend. Moreover, despite the over 2000-year-old tradition of commenting upon Shijing, a deep and consistent linguistic analysis of Shijing is yet to be performed. This project is estimated, firstly, to create a fully digitized version of the text, including grammar markdown, both word-for-word and literary translations, etymological and philological commentaries, and, secondly, publishing of various mini research dwelling upon the role of Shijing in forming of poetic, mythological and artistic tradition of China.


Project participants: E.A. Kuzmina, G.S. Starostin, A.B. Starostina
 

Project 4 A perfect Classic Chinese dictionary: the theoretical model and its practical implementation

As based on project participants many years of teaching and research experience, none of the existing Classic Chinese dictionaries (as well as general Chinese dictionaries that include Classic period as well as Modern) can be considered satisfactory, for nearly all of these dictionaries are based on a lexicographic tradition rooted in times immemorial and do not take into account such achievements of modern Sinology and general linguistic theory as: reconstruction of Ancient Chinese system of hieroglyphic readings; fundamental change in perceptions of oral and written speech balance in Ancient China; corpus-and-context approach to language material, etc.


Therefore, the task of developing a perfect structure of a Classic Chinese dictionary becomes extremely relevant. Such structure must both take into account all information types that are to be presented in a dictionary and, at the same time, it should be flexible and understandable enough for the dictionary to be updated by both permanent and temporary project participants online in real time. At its fullest, such dictionary is conceived as a hierarchical structure, which is closely linked to a formatted corpus of texts and distinguishes between hieroglyph (written sign) level and word (language lexeme) level.


Project participants: E.A. Kuzmina, G.S. Starostin, E.S. Kholkina
 

Project 5 Natural environment in Japanese history and culture

Being to some amount independent from practical activity, theoretical perception of environment has an enormous impact upon human behavior. Such impact is enshrined in rituals, the tactics and strategy of life; it is also discernible on state politics level. For example, Japanese foreign policy used to be substantially based upon evaluation, either favorable or unfavorable, of environmental quality, whereby such evaluation could differ significantly in different historical eras.


The purpose of our project is complex studying of Japanese attitudes towards natural environment, addressing their historical dynamics. Nature and power, perceiving of the size of the countrys territory, control over natural disaster, modeling of perfect nature and aesthetic comprehension of nature are seen as main research problems. Translation and philological commentary upon the most ancient Japanese poetic anthology Kanfuso is also carried out within the project.


Project participants: A.N. Mescheriakov, S.A. Rodin, N.N. Trubnikova
 

Project 6 Biographies of the Saints by Farid ud-Din Attar: translation and studying of the noted Iranian hagiographic piece

Farid ud-Din Attars anthology known as Biographies of the Saints is listed among the most important works of Iranian Sufism. The main body of the anthology consists of seventy two biographies of Muslim saints those who have achieved perfection both in religious practice and in understanding of God, those who hold the secrets of the Innermost and are blessed to see God. Attars anthology is well known to scholars, but so far it has been perceived first and foremost as a historical source on Sufi history, with facts of Sufis lives and their teachings sought from it. However, it is also worthy of scholarly studying as a notable work of literature and culture.


Research that dwells upon the anthologys inner structure and relates to the problems of Sufi doctrine narrativization (parables as ethical rule examples) are among the most important topics that can be unfolded upon via Biographies of the Saints data. Alongside such separate research projects we also prepare a full Russian philological translation of the anthology, accompanied by an introductory research and a multidimensional commentary.


Project participants: M.A. Alontsev, L.G. Lachuti, E.L. Nikitenko, T.A. Schetchikova, N.Yu. Chalisova

logo
logo
EN
RU
logo
 

Востоковедение и компаративистика

О лаборатории


Лаборатория объединяет ряд специалистов в области классического востоковедения и лингвистов, работающих в сфере исторического языкознания. Научная деятельность и тех, и других в рамках лаборатории проходит под девизом «реконструкция смыслов». Это в первую очередь перевод, исследование, комментирование, всестороннее осмысление классических письменных текстов восточных цивилизаций, во многом определяющих их сущность. Параллельно с этим в лаборатории ведутся исследования в области лингвистической реконст­рукции — частичного восстановления древних (дописьменных) праязыков на основании сравнения их исторически зафиксированных потомков. В своей общей совокупности эти исследования позволяют заглянуть глубоко в прошлое и восстановить те причинно-следст­венные связи, которые в конечном итоге сформировали современное общество.


Лаборатория выпускает ежеквартальный бюллетень «Восточная панорама», который представляет собой культурологический комментарий к актуальным событиям стран изучаемого региона.


Проекты

Проект 1 Общая теория и методология лексикостатистики и глоттохронологии


Лексикостатистика (формальный метод, с помощью которого на материале базисной лексики устанавливается относительная классификация родственных языков) и глоттохронология (подразновидность лексикостатистики, позволяющая устанавливать абсолютную хронологию языкового распада) в настоящее время являются одними из наи­более перспективных точных методов в историческом языкознании, привлекая внимание не только лингвистов, но и представителей многочисленных смежных дисциплин —антропологов, историков, генетиков и т. п. Сотрудники Лаборатории работают как над теоретическим усо­вершенствованием этих методов, так и над созданием унифицирован­ного корпуса базисной лексики по языкам мира (интернет-проект «Глобальная лексико­статистическая база данных»).


Участники проекта: М. Е. Васильев, Г. С. Старостин

Проект 2 Сравнительный корпус базисной лексики ностратических языков


Гипотеза генетического родства т. н. «ностратических» языков, объединяющих такие крупнейшие языковые семьи Евразии, как индоевропейскую, уральскую, алтайскую, картвельскую и дравидийскую, является одной из наиболее смелых и масштабных попыток снять завесу над лингвистической предысторией Евразии эпохи неолитической рево­люции или непосредственно предшествовавшей ей. Для того, чтобы успешно подтвердить (или опровергнуть) эту теорию, созданную выдающимся лингвистом В. М. Иллич-Свиты­чем в 1960-е гг., требуется проделать значительную работу по созданию унифицирован­ного и подробно откомментированного корпуса архаичной базисной лексики всех семей, входящих в ностратическую. Сотрудники Лаборатории создают данный корпус на базе компьютерной лингвистической среды StarLing, в свое время разработанной С. А. Старо­стиным специально для решения актуальных задач сравнительно-исторического языкознания.


Участники проекта: М.А. Живлов, А.С. Касьян, Г.С. Старостин

Проект 3 Древнекитайская антология «Шицзин» и ее роль в становлении китайской поэтической традиции


Антология «Шицзин» лежит в основе китайской поэтической традиции и является одним из наиболее фундаментальных и одновременно трудных для понимания текстов китайской культуры. При этом глубинный и последовательный лингвистический анализ «Шицзина», несмотря на то, что традиция его комментирования имеет более чем двухтысячелетнюю историю, до сих пор не проведен. В рамках данного проекта предполагается создание полно­стью компьютеризированной версии памятника, включа­ющей грамматическую разметку, дослов­ный и литературный переводы, этимоло­гический и филологический комментарий, а также публикация различного рода мини-исследований, так или иначе связанных с ролью «Шицзина» в формировании поэтической, мифологи­ческой, артистической традиции Китая.


Участники проекта: Е.А. Кузьмина, Г.С. Старостин, А.Б. Старостина

Проект 4 Теоретическая модель «идеального» словаря классического китайского языка и ее практическая реализация


Как показывает многолетний опыт преподавательской и исследовательской работы участников проекта, ни один из существующих словарей классического китайского языка (а также об­щих словарей китайского языка, включающих классический этап наряду с современным) не может считаться удовлетворительным, т. к. практически все такие словари основаны скорее на лексикографической традиции, ухо­дящей корнями в глубокую древность, и не учитывают таких достижений современной синологии и общей лингвистической теории, как реконст­рукция древнекитайской системы иероглифических чтений; коренное изменение представ­лений о соотношении устной и письменной речи в Древнем Китае; корпусно-контекстный подход к языковому материалу и др.


В связи с этим чрезвычайно актуальной оказывается задача разработки «идеальной» структуры словаря классического китайского языка, которая, с одной стороны, учитывала бы все типы информации, обязательные к отражению в словаре, с другой — была бы достаточно гибкой и доступной для того, чтобы словарь мог попол­няться в «интерактивном» режиме постоянными и переменными участниками проекта. В наиболее полном виде такой словарь мыслится как иерархическая структура, разделяющая уровень «иероглифа» (письменного знака) и «слова» (языковой лексемы) и тесно связанная с размеченным корпусом текстов.


Участники проекта: Е.А. Кузьмина, Г.С. Старостин, Е.С. Холкина

Проект 5 Природная среда обитания в японской истории и культуре


Будучи в определенной степени независимыми от практической деятельности, теоретические представления о среде обитания оказывают огромное влияние на поведение человека. Оно закреплено в ритуалах, жизненной тактике и стратегии; видно оно и на уровне государственной политики. Так, внешняя политика Японии в значительной степени строилась в зависимости от оценки (благоприятной или неблагоприятной) качества среды обитания, причем эта оценка могла значительно меняться в разные исторические периоды.


Целью нашего проекта является комплексное изучение рассмотренного в исторической динамике отношения японцев по отношению к природной среде обитания. В качестве основных проблем рассматриваются: природа и власть, представление о размерах территории страны, контроль над стихийными бедствиями, моделирование идеальной природы, эстетическое осмысление природы. В рамках проекта осуществляется в том числе перевод и филологическое комментирование древнейшей японской поэтической антологии «Кайфусо».


Участники проекта: А.Н. Мещеряков, С.А. Родин, Н.Н. Трубникова

Проект 6 «Поминания святых» Фарид ад-Дина Аттара: перевод и исследование памятника иранской агиографии


Антология Фарид ад-Дина ʻАттара «Поминания друзей Божьих» принадлежит к числу важнейших памятников иранского суфизма. Она включает в своей основной части семьдесят два «поминания» «друзей Божьих» – мусульманских святых, людей, которые достигли совершенства как в религиозной практике, так и в богопознании, которым ведомы тайны Сокровенного и доступно лицезрение Бога. Антология Аттара хорошо известна специалистам, однако до сих пор она служила прежде всего источником по истории суфизма, к ней обращались за сведениями о фактах жизни и речениях того или иного суфия. Между тем, она заслуживает изучения и в качестве памятника литературы и культуры.


К важнейшим темам, которые могут быть раскрыты на материале «Поминаний друзей Божьих», принадлежат исследования, касающиеся внутренней структуры памят­ника и связанные с проблематикой нарративизации суфийской доктрины (притчи как примеры на этическое правило). Помимо такого рода от­дельных исследований, мы занимаемся подготовкой полного русского филологического перевода «Поминаний святых», снабженного вступительным исследованием и многоаспектным комментарием.


Участники проекта: М.А. Алонцев, Л.Г. Лахути, Е.Л. Никитенко, Т.А. Счетчикова, Н.Ю. Чалисова